Samsung SDI, Alpha Omega Power Sign 1 GWh ESS Deal, 1.5 GWh in Total
Samsung SDI America signed a 1 GWh deal to supply SBB 1.7 storage systems to Alpha Omega Power, with delivery due by end-2026, lifting total AOP volume to 1.5 GWh.
2 min readAI-assisted

The new 1 GWh order lifts total volume contracted with Alpha Omega Power to 1.5 GWh, according to Samsung SDI.
Illustration (AI-generated)
Samsung SDI said on October 26 that its U.S. unit, Samsung SDI America, signed a 1 GWh energy storage supply agreement with Alpha Omega Power (AOP) for its Samsung Battery Box (SBB) 1.7 energy storage system, with delivery due by the end of 2026.
The new order sits on top of an earlier AOP order from late 2025. Together, the two lift the volume contracted with AOP to 1.5 GWh, according to the company's announcement as carried by Money Today and NewDaily. The 1 GWh figure is therefore the new contract, and 1.5 GWh is the running total with the same customer.
AOP plans to install the systems at a large-scale power project in Texas that is set to break ground in 2027, the Korean reports said. Aju Press describes the buyer as a U.S. power producer, and Samsung SDI America's ESS head Fabrice Hudry called AOP one of the fastest-growing independent power producers in the country.
What is being supplied
The SBB 1.7 is an all-in-one ESS unit built with high-nickel NCA (nickel-cobalt-aluminum) cells. Samsung SDI says it produces them at StarPlus Energy in Kokomo, Indiana, its joint venture with Stellantis. The company says the unit holds the same 20-foot footprint as the earlier SBB 1.5 with 17% higher energy density, and carries NFPA 855 fire-safety installation and UL 9540 energy-storage certifications. The 17% figure is a company claim at product level and no test conditions were published.

Samsung SDI says the SBB 1.7 holds a 20 ft footprint with 17% higher energy density than the SBB 1.5; no test conditions were published.
Illustration (AI-generated)
Samsung SDI also cites its in-module direct-injection (EDI) fire-suppression technology and an AI-based fault-diagnosis and lifetime-prediction algorithm. Both are vendor descriptions that have not been independently verified.
The company says it is the only non-Chinese maker of prismatic ESS batteries in North America, and that prismatic cells outlast pouch cells on durability and fire safety. That is its own positioning. The contract value was not disclosed; Money Today wrote that the market estimates the combined value of the two AOP orders at several hundred billion won, which is an outside estimate and not a company figure.
Where it fits in Samsung SDI's U.S. storage push
This is not the March 2026 deal. On March 16, Samsung SDI announced a KRW 1.5 trillion (about $1 billion) prismatic ESS supply contract with an unnamed U.S. energy company, with phased deliveries from 2026 through 2029, according to The Korea Herald. Neither the Samsung SDI announcement nor the Korean reports of the AOP order link the two contracts, and the AOP first order is dated late 2025, not March. The March customer remains undisclosed. The same Korea Herald report also mentioned a separate contract worth more than KRW 2 trillion announced in December 2025.
For supply-chain readers, the point is where the cells come from. As Voltgrid reported, a third U.S. LFP line at the same site has begun taking equipment orders, converted from NCA. SBB 1.7 supply from Indiana adds a domestic-cell option for grid projects, including those serving AI-driven load growth, though the announcement ties this order to a Texas power project and does not name a data-center customer.
What is not confirmed yet
Samsung SDI did not state the contract value, the size of the first AOP order or the Texas site's MW rating. Delivery by year-end is the company's schedule. Samsung SDI also said it is in talks with several other U.S. customers and expects more orders soon, and no further contract has been announced.




